The World’s Greatest Cookie   1 comment

I recently made one of the world’s most delicious cookie recipes, after quite a long hiatus.  I have to say of everything I cook, most of it, with a couple of exceptions, is recipes from friends and family.  I do use two or three excellent cookbooks on a regular basis, but overall, the best recipes are those in my ratty old accordion file that’s falling apart.  They’re written on recipe cards, index cards, bits of notebook paper, the back of a page of Juan Goytisolo’s Marks of Identify that I read as  college freshman, a few cut out of magazines and the newspaper.

The other great thing about a recipe from a friend, is that when you make it, you think of that person and fun times you had together.

When you make a recipe given to you by someone who has died, I think it’s a way to make them live again, just a bit.

When I make this cookie recipe, I remember how they were always in a glass cookie jar, waiting for me when I went to visit my grandmother in Oklahoma City.  I remember summer dinners in the dim dining room, the window A/C humming away bringing gloriously cold air to us.  I remember my grandmother’s smile and her big brown eyes.  So many memories there.  When I make the cookies I think with so much love of Gramma.

When I eat them I think of her too. Somehow food has that power for good.  Maybe it’s not the most nutritious recipe you’ve ever seen, but hey, it’s  a cookie.  It’s not supposed to be nutritious.

To good food and good memories and the love of a good grandmother.

World’s Greatest Cookie

1 cup butter

1 cup peanut butter

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar, packed

2 eggs

2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 6 oz. package chocolate chips

Cream butter and peanut butter together.  Gradually add sugars and cream until blended.  Add eggs and beat until smooth.  Add flour and soda.  (Gramma says to sift flour twice, but I have managed to get along without that step for 25 years now.)  Stir in chocolate chips.  Drop by teaspoon onto a greased baking sheet.  Bake in 325 oven for 15 minutes.  Makes 6 dozen.

Posted June 6, 2013 by swanatbagend in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

One response to “The World’s Greatest Cookie

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh I have a special cookie recipe from my grandma too, Jenny. I know exactly what you mean 🙂 Those look delish!

Leave a Reply

