Songs of the Year   Leave a comment

This year there have been a few songs that have stayed with me, that have summed up the year, and what God has been doing.  It has really been a year of blessing.  These songs have literally gotten stuck in my head, in a good way.

This is the first year in I can’t think how long where there are no major struggles or issues that the children are dealing with.

For a while there, it was just one darn thing after another, for a mom to help them with.  There was never a moment to stop and breathe almost, for the last two years, it seemed like.

But for sure I look back now on all the struggles and all the challenges and I do feel this year has been a year of rest and blessing, and I can see it, taste it and feel it.

The weekend that Zach graduated, as I went about the shopping, picking up the graduation cake and all that fun stuff, this song by MercyMe was my companion.

I’ve been the one to try and say
I’ll overcome by my own strength
I’ve been the one to fall apart
And to start to question who You are

You’re the one who conquers giants
You’re the one who calls out kings
You shut the mouths of lions
You tell the dead to breathe
You’re the one who walks through fire
You take the orphan’s hand
You are the one Messiah
You are I am
You are I am

It’s stayed with me the rest of the year, returning as I think about all the mercies God has showered on us, mainly on the boys.  He’s brought them through so many hard times.  He does change hearts and minds in real ways, and we’ve seen that.  So when I hear “You tell the dead to breathe” I know it’s true.  And I’ve seen it in my own life when I was emotionally or physically “dead.”  He’s been the air.

Same with this one by Sidewalk Prophets, was with me on graduation day, fittingly I think, but has recurred as we’ve observed Zach following his road, and as we’ve resonated with him as he’s wrestled with a certain class and subject this fall.

If there’s a road I should walk
Help me find it  If I need to be still
Give me peace for the moment
Whatever Your will, whatever Your will

Can you help me find it?
Can you help me find it?

I’m giving You fear and You give faith
I’m giving you doubt, You give me grace
For every step I’ve never been alone

Even when it hurts, You’ll have Your way
Even in the valley I will say
With every breath, You’ve never let me go

The weekend that we took Zach to college and got him settled there I had another companion song.  This one is not one I had especially noted before and really the only part I know is the refrain. But that was what remained as we traveled around the campus, rode a bus that ran into a car (nobody was hurt), and gave Zach his final hug and words of encouragement before we headed back home.

I know who goes before me I know who stands behind

The god of angel armies is always by my side

The one who reigns forever He is a friend of mine

The god of angel armies is always by my side

Chris Tomlin, Whom Shall I Fear?

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind
The God of angel armies is always by my side
The One who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine
The God of angel armies is always by my side

Seemed like that was provided just for this mama who was, as all are, reluctant to face the final moment of parting.

The song that reached across the whole year however is 10,000 Reasons by Matt Redman. I don’t remember when I first heard it, but with how full my heart has been this year, starting with our last spring break with Zach, it has been a song I continually seem to refer back to.

You’re rich in love and you’re slow to anger

Your name is great and your heart is kind

For all your goodness I will keep on singing

Ten thousand reasons for my heart to find

Bless the Lord oh my soul, Oh my soul

Worship his holy name

Sing like never before O my soul

I’ll worship your holy name

My heart has been so full this year.  So that kind of summed it up.

I’m not saying I believe that nothing unpleasant will ever happen again.  I know that things will get harder again for us, because that’s just the nature of life.  I don’t know why I’m sailing a peaceful sea at the moment.  I’m just really thankful that I have come to port here for a time, and I thank God for answering so many prayers.

Posted December 17, 2013 by swanatbagend in gratitude

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

