Flames   Leave a comment

Mesmerizing.  Peaceful.  Flickering.  Colorful.

I wish I could come up with some more words that would really do a warm fire justice.  I built one last night as the temperature dropped all day, and by evening I wanted to enjoy the delights of laying on the tinder and logs just so, lighting the newspaper, and watching trickles of orange travel upward.

What is it about fire that is so entrancing?

I could sit and look at the interplay of orange, yellow, blue and sometimes green flame, and hot orange and russet  glowing coals all evening, and be perfectly happy.

When I’m watching the fire my brain disconnects from the current projects and stress.  I feel peaceful.  I am pulled into an eternal place where I’m at rest and nothing is changing.  I don’t know about you, but some part of me believes when next to a fire, that the present moment will not ever end, even though the rest of me knows no moment does that.

It’s interesting to think that this sensation is one that human beings have been experiencing for a long time.  If the theory of the collective unconscious is correct, this experience might even partly be driven by memories of my ancestors.

But why is it that a visual experience that seems timeless, is in fact completely transient?

A fire by definition is entropy, matter and substance becoming more dispersed, not less.  How can something that will burn out that very night before I go to bed put me in a place that will never burn out?

Posted February 25, 2014 by swanatbagend in reflections

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

