Success as a Parent   Leave a comment

What is that anyway?

How do I know that I have done a good job as a parent?  There don’t seem to be any grades handed out for this long-term project…which, of course, I learned 17 years ago, was not a project, but a person I couldn’t do without.

Does my kid have to be a movie star or a doctor or lawyer for me to know I’m a success?

Does she have to be another Mother Teresa?

Does he just need to be a decent human being who works hard to do his job and take care of his family and the creature of the earth?

What if he turns out to be kind of a jerk, or maybe even a real big jerk?

What does that say about me?

I think it says much more about the child than it does about me.

But because I love the child, raise the child, know the child, and am so deeply invested in the child that I’m a bit entangled…I want the child to be okay.  I want her to be a success at being a human being.  I know that means she’ll suffer and mess up as all the rest of us human beings do.  But I also want to know that I did everything I could to show him the path and help him start on it.

However, I don’t think anything my child does can confirm that I did my job.  I have to determine that for myself.

Posted October 4, 2014 by swanatbagend in parenting

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

