One day   Leave a comment

“One day she finally grasped that unexpected things were always going to happen in life.  And with that she realized the only control she had was how she chose to handle them.”

A friend posted this quote from Lupytha Hermin on my page about a week ago and I’ve been letting it sink in since then.

One thing I couldn’t help wondering was why she chose to post it on my Facebook page.  Why mine and not someone else’s?  Well, maybe she did post it on all her friends’ pages.  That wouldn’t be a bad idea…we could all use a dose of reality, especially a reality reminder like this.  Then I found myself wondering how on earth this friend who lives at the other end of the continent knew I was already processing some realizations about my tendency to temper tantrums when things do not work the way I think they should.

It is important to grasp several essentials about this life.  And I know these are essentials I haven’t been great at welcoming into my reality.

We aren’t in control of what happens.

God is with us no matter what happens.

He infuses how we respond to everything that happens and empowers us to live through it and make something good out of it.

He can do more than we can ask and more than we can even imagine, in every single unimaginable circumstance.

I can choose to have courage in facing the day-to-day and in facing the big and awful as well.  Because I’m not alone.

 

 

Posted November 3, 2014 by swanatbagend in character, reality

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

