Keeping my Powder Dry   Leave a comment

In this case, my pudding powder.

I mixed up a box of chocolate pudding earlier today to serve for dessert at dinner tonight.  Both kids looked at me funny because they know my idea of dessert is usually purchased ice cream. They haven’t had store pudding in years.

That’s not to say that I don’t like dessert.  Those of you who know me know I very much like dessert.  Rather I don’t often take the time to make dessert.  When I do make it I always enjoy it.  My favorites usually involve chocolate, hence my current list of favorites starts with homemade vanilla ice cream with homemade hot fudge sauce.  I also like grain free almond butter brownies, warm with ice cream.  Chocolate creme brulée is wonderful, but has only been made once.  You get the idea.

Anyway, I had noticed an old box of instant pudding in the back of the baking cabinet, and since we’re out of ice cream, I decided to mix that up.  I haven’t done instant pudding since we went MSG free six years ago.  As part of that diet, processed foods are out.

It mixed up fine and is currently in the fridge chilling.

But on the way home from errands, I told my daughter what I just realized about the pudding.  It is Meijer brand.  I don’t shop at Meijer.  I haven’t shopped at Meijer for–hmm–maybe 12 years?  Does anyone remember when they opened up their store in Lexington?  It would have been a year or two after that.

So since there apparently wasn’t an expiration date on the pudding, I happily went ahead and mixed it.

And honestly I am sure it will be fine.  Kind of like the Twinkie the roach eats in Wally.

But in this case I certainly have been spending a long period of time–keeping the powder dry.

 

Posted November 5, 2014 by swanatbagend in food

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

