The Benefits of Moving   2 comments

While I have no desire to repeat a move at this time in my life, because we did that eight years ago and I still remember how much work it was and what an upheaval it was, there is something to be said for moving on a regular basis when you’re a child.

My parents were obviously the ones who carried the load of all the logistics and planning.  But they were very good at framing the move as an adventure for our family. So that’s the way I saw it as a child.

And here, in no particular order, are my favorite things about moving often.

1. I got to live in many interesting and beautiful, sometimes wild, places.

2. Because we lived in different places, we got to go to a wide variety of vacation spots that were in driving distance of where we lived.  When we lived in Montana, we went camping in Montana and Wyoming.  I got to see Yellowstone and Hebgen Lake.  I went to Girl Scout camp near Red Lodge, up in the mountains.  We could take the train to Minnesota to spend Christmas with my father’s family.  Then when we moved to Oklahoma, we took in lots of Texas, Arkansas, and beautiful New Mexico (and did I mention more of Texas?  There’s a lot of it to take in.  And a side trip in 1983 to Ciudad Juarez.)  And when we lived in Alaska?  Well–I got to see Alaska.  What more can you say about that?

3. I learned how to make friends in new places.

4. Once you’ve lived all over the country, you know people all over the country. So when I travel, or if I need help when I’m away from home, I just might be near someone who can help me out.

5. Lots of Christmas cards.

6. I got to know a wide variety of people whom I would not have come to know had I stayed in one place and gotten insular there.  It’s easy to just stick with what you know in your day-to-day life, and in who you spend time with.  Moving thus gives you exposure to all kinds of interesting folks.

7. There is a bond amongst family members since you are with each other and for each other through all the changes.  You become, in essence, each other’s closest friends.  And these are friends who are not left behind when you move again.

8. When you are the new person, you learn what it is like, and this gives you motivation to welcome new people in.  When you have an awareness of what it means to be made welcome, you draw others in and you become a force for good.

Posted November 17, 2014 by swanatbagend in transitions

Tagged with

2 responses to “The Benefits of Moving

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on EstateMax and commented:
    as a move manager i can relate.

  2. Thanks for the reblog!

Leave a Reply

