True Story (for my daughter)   2 comments

Long awaited child

I sweated, cried, raved, moaned

I was in pain to birth you

And all this for years before you finally came

In August

Your water gushed out of me like the falling rain

that early morning

And again I waited

Early Saturday I woke to a meteor shower

The Perseids were falling in the east

One a minute, dropping fast

We watched them for an hour

Till dawn came

Again I waited

Early Sunday I woke to a shower of another kind

Again I sweated, cried, raved, moaned

Till dawn came

And you fell from my womb

A hot, ripe star

 

I wrote this in 2000.  Mothering published it in 2002 in the same issue in which my friend Jill McCorkle’s VBAC article was printed.  On this, my star’s quinceañera, I share this poem about her birth.

Posted August 13, 2015 by swanatbagend in motherhood, reflections

Tagged with

2 responses to “True Story (for my daughter)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, I remember when this was published. Like the new one too. Mom

  2. Fifteen years, like the flicker of a meteor! Beautiful way to capture the memories ❤

Leave a Reply

