Never Long Enough?   Leave a comment

Why is it that a vacation is never enough? I can’t think of a time in recent history, or even in the last twenty years, when I could honestly say at the end of my trip, “I’m ready to go back to my responsibilities!”

If I take a vacation with my family and we go camping, life is much simpler, and generally, I don’t think about projects back home or work or research or anything.  I think about hiking, the scenery, what we’re eating next, and getting everyone tucked in for bed.  It’s pretty simple.

If I take a road trip to see a friend, I think about all kinds of things while the road unwinds and my mind does the same. I enjoy laughs and getting caught up with the friend.

If I am on a getaway for a night or two with my husband, I don’t think about the kids much.  I don’t worry about them.  I enjoy the buffet breakfast, I enjoy not having to cook for anyone, and I just sit and read a book when I want to.  I stare out the window.  My man and I talk about all kinds of subjects we don’t usually talk about.

So I think I’m taking advantage of these opportunities I do have, for the most part.  An exception might be fall break, which we are partaking of right now.  Only, since I’m home, the kids are home–it seems to be difficult to just do whatever I want to do, because most of my regular responsibilities are still right here looking at me.

But it doesn’t seem to matter what I am doing that is a break from the usual routine, it never seems to be long enough.  I always want more.

So do I have an insatiable appetite for rest and relaxation?

Or have I just not gotten a long enough vacation yet?

Posted October 9, 2015 by swanatbagend in mental health

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

