I don’t know how it happened   Leave a comment

But–I. Am. So. Blessed.

At night when he is ready for bed and has been read to by his dad, my going-on-12-year-old son comes into my daughter’s room and tells her goodnight.  They touch noses by way of friendly greeting.

Sure, he only remembers to knock first intermittently but he’s trying–and that he wants to come in and touch base with everyone in the family before he goes to bed is worth celebrating.

I’m usually there with my daughter talking before I say goodnight to her, and so we both get the benefit of his usually cheerful goodnight.

I don’t remember doing this with my brother.

My mother usually tucked me in at that age; I also have many memories of moments spent together at bedtime with my father when I was little.  But I don’t think I have any memories at all of saying good night to my brother.  I guess we were too inclined to get on each other’s nerves throughout the day to have any wish to wrap the day’s annoyance up with a friendly greeting.  I regret that.

So I am grateful for children who do more than tolerate each other most of the time.  Makes it incredibly pleasant to get to the end of the day and go off to sleep in harmony.

 

Posted December 12, 2015 by swanatbagend in gratitude

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

