Road Trip to Michigan Again   Leave a comment

I guess I’ve found a good way to get some R and R.  I went back to Michigan again this weekend and stayed with my mother in law and my brother and his family.  I did this last fall and found it to be very refreshing.   I had missed seeing my nephews at New Year’s because of illness and I really wanted to find another time to get back.  I’m glad I did.  I got home this evening feeling very happy.  I like happy.

I found a way to connect with my brother in the midst of his very busy life as a band director.  I found time to catch up with my sister-in-law.  I got to interact at length with my five-year-old nephew, and hold the baby over and over again.

I can’t get enough of the five-year-old’s conversation and the baby’s sweet heaviness.  There’s nothing quite like a huge, fuzzy, sweet-smelling, hard baby head right against your cheek.

I also had a great time thrifting with my mother in law, tooling around town running errands together, and eating in the lovely private dining room at her retirement community.  We looked through many wonderful family pictures and heard the stories that went with them, as we tried to sort them out.

But Sunday morning was the best.  Saturday night I arrived after dinner at my brother’s, and we took a nighttime stroll to the local ice cream place.  At the mention of their church’s name a hymn came to mind, and I started singing the chorus, “We’re marching to Zion, beautiful, beautiful Zion, we’re marching upward to Zion, the beautiful city of God.”

Sunday morning, after the sermon, we sang that hymn.

That’s a Lo! moment (Thank you Charles Fort for giving a name to those things).  So I sing “Then let your songs abound and every tear be dry; we’re marching through Emmanuel’s ground, to fairer worlds on high,” with my brother and sister.  I walk forward to take communion with a nice plump baby on my hip.  I travel through the worship and follow the Cross back out.

We are marching in the light of God, we are dancing in the light of God.

It doesn’t get any better than this.

 

Posted February 24, 2016 by swanatbagend in gratitude

Leave a Reply

