Generosity   3 comments

I can be generous when I feel like it.  I can give away so much money that alone gets me a decent tax refund.

I love plotting to do something nice for someone in need, and finding a way to provide what they need, all in a way they either won’t find out about or that at least will surprise them.

It’s been fun to give family members Christmas presents far beyond what they would usually have expected.  I still get to see some of those things in use when I visit.

I am glad to offer my time for worthy causes, and I volunteer in ways that fit my schedule, but I wonder.

Unless I am willing to stop what I am doing, and give time and care at the moment it is needed, instead of when I want to, and do this without complaining–am I really generous?

To be truly generous is being so when the giving is not what I want.  I am not sure I can say I’m generous until I give without stopping to think.

What do you think?

Posted March 14, 2016 by swanatbagend in character

Tagged with , ,

3 responses to “Generosity

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very good question – I too like to do justice where I want to, like “food pantry”, “Habitat Restore”, etc. Hmmm.

  2. Hmmmn. I don’t think it’s a question of stopping to think. That’s just sense. If you don’t stop to think, you may promise time or energy that is already committed elsewhere (and recovering/maintaining your balance has to count!). If you don’t stop to think, you may jump in and help and pre-empt someone else form doing so… evne if their skills/capactiy is a better match at that time.

    I do agree with you that there is an important aspect of generosity in giving when it is needed not when one feels like giving it… but that seems to denigrate the spontaneous gift. Just because you enjoy the giving doesn’t lessen it… usually it enhances the experience of the recipient.

    It may not be possible to give with joy when it is required – every time – rather than when we desire. That is a good goal, but perhaps an unrealistic one. Sometimes the gift alone is enough… I am sure that I was just as grateful for the meals my mom cooked in a huff as the ones that she took great joy in creating and presenting. Perhaps the trick is not to show the huff?

  3. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. That is what I wanted — some feedback as to the balance you describe. You’re right about having to make wise decisions. I think I wrote this because I struggle with determining where that line is, and my fatigue often makes me respond unfavorably to needs, when in my mind and heart, I don’t want to be that way. Again thanks.

Leave a Reply

