What is Essential After this Election   1 comment

What is essential after this election?

I can’t stop thinking about my friends and family who are minorities–and Americans.

What must they be feeling as they look around themselves at neighbors, co-workers, bosses, school-mates, in states and precincts where they know that most of those who voted, voted for Donald Trump?

Mr. Trump’s attitude toward the public’s response to his comments has generally been belligerent, although he did give an apology regarding the video of his crude remarks about women.   He hasn’t attempted to mitigate his racist and elitist views.  Others have attempted to apologize for him, but that’s definitely not the same thing.  So it follows that people in the groups he thinks little of are wondering what it means for them and their children that overnight their citizenship has been transferred to a state which will be run by a person who hates.

How can they not be afraid of what may come next?

And I know my friends are thinking this, worrying how their neighbors will feel free to treat them, because they are saying so.

I would like to know why people who are respectful and kind voted for a leader who is none of those things.  How will it work in our country when those in authority say things that, I trust, your mother taught you never to say?  I’m thinking of the rules we learned as children, such as, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all,” and “Treat others the way you would like to be treated.”  These are the foundational rules of our society.  But this election’s results prove that Mr. Trump was correct when he decided those rules are for lesser mortals.

Please tell me why it has become OK for our nation’s elected leader to treat other human beings with a disregard that would not otherwise be tolerated in any venue.

What is essential now is that people with heart and kindness work overtime to show their friends and neighbors that their position in our society has not changed.  We must work ten times harder than before to bridge the gap, to reach out the hand, and to speak up for others.

We must.

 

Posted November 14, 2016 by swanatbagend in citizenship, community

Tagged with , ,

One response to “What is Essential After this Election

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am wondering the very same thing my friend. The day Mr. Trump may fun on public television of a disabled reporter, he lost my vote as a person who has a mild form of Cerebral Palsy. I cannot figure out a way to respect this man as my president. Yes, I am loving and kind, but until he somehow, if ever, earns my respect, he is not my president, although I feel no need to go out and riot to cause further division in our country, but for now he is Mr. Trump to me and will be for a long time. If someone can help me see this in a different and see a way for me to heal a deep wound, not only for me, but for all disabled individuals

Leave a Reply

