It Happened Again   Leave a comment

I had a sort of déjà vu moment this afternoon.  I dropped my two younger children off for their drama Christmas party.  Not routine: a different venue than the class, downtown, and a bit weird to just be dumping them at the door.

Of course it was all fine.

I realized as I drove away that I was remembering a day four years ago when the two of them went to a movie at a local theater on their own.  For a variety of reasons, this wasn’t something typical, but they wanted to see this movie in the theater instead of waiting for Netflix, and I didn’t, so they went.  The youngest was eight years old then.  The middle was twelve.

My oldest was volunteering.

So then, as the homeschool parent of three chidren, I was by myself.  It was rare for all three of them to be gone to different places at the same time.  It was just odd to be alone.

That was a moment when the door opened into the future.

Today, I was reminded vividly of that first moment when I saw what was coming.

 

Posted December 15, 2016 by swanatbagend in motherhood

Leave a Reply

