A Snow Day   1 comment

It’s the first snow day of the year for all the schools in our area.  As I write, an attractive snow of large flakes is coming peacefully down, but I wouldn’t say roads and grass are covered.  It’s pretty, but not anything more at this point.  It’s 2 p.m.–an hour or so left to go in the regular school day, and road conditions don’t concern me yet.  Earlier the roads were treated, and either a bit damp or dry, no slick spots that I saw.

I’m sure kids all over our area are longing for it to really open up and dump out the expected one to three inches.  I would be too if I were in their snow boots.

Honestly, I don’t know much about the challenges of traveling to school in bad weather since we homeschool.  When it snows, we can have both sledding and hot chocolate and our school day.  On snowy days I don’t want to go anywhere anyway, so I always hope earnestly that it won’t be snowing hard on a day when we have an appointment that does not cancel for snow.  Usually, we don’t have to venture out, so I don’t truly know what it’s like to have to deal with weather delays and worries when riding a bus route or picking children up from school.

So all that said, I still don’t think that languidly falling flakes are a reason to cancel school.  Don’t get me wrong; if there’s blowing snow, freezing rain, ice or power outages–that definitely warrants school closings.

Where I live, that doesn’t seem to be the case.  When it snows or snow is forecast, school is closed.

I’m told that it is both a safety and liability issue for the school districts who have to make this difficult call.

Here is what I don’t understand.  It doesn’t really matter if there is just an inch of snow forecast, or if there is a winter storm warning and blizzard force winds.  Most businesses and most offices and most factories and most hospitals, most of the time, don’t stop for anything.

So when school stops, the parents have to figure out what to do for their children and have to take time off work, just because it snowed.  Or they have to leave their children at home alone.

And if it is truly horrible weather, the children get to stay home, but the parents must brave the roads.

Why are the children protected from any potential danger, but their parents are not?  Why must business continue no matter the cost, while education is dropped immediately at the mere prediction of snow?

Why are children so priceless that any amount of snow must keep them at home, safe, but their parents must continue to venture out or pay the cost of lost wages or vacation days?  Why are children worth more than their parents in our culture?  If it’s worth staying home, why can’t we all stay home?

Posted January 5, 2017 by swanatbagend in reflections

Tagged with , ,

One response to “A Snow Day

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good point, my dear. Mom

Leave a Reply

